Member Profile

Board Members

BOARD Member Profiles

1. Shri Darash Mathur, IFS (Chairman)

Shri D. Mathur, IFS joined Indian Forest Service on 1 st April, 1980. He is a Post-graduate in Mathematics from Agra University. Prior to joining IFS, he served as Lecturer of Mathematics for a brief spell.

Consequent upon joining Assam Forest Department in July, 1982, he served in various capacities in almost all wings of department i.e. Social Forestry, Territorial, Research, Education & Working Plan, Planning & Development etc.

Successfully climbing all the rungs of departmental ladder, he was promoted to the Apex post of the Principal Chief Conservator of Forest & Head of Forest Force, Assam in May, 2015 and held this post till joining as Chairman, Assam State Biodiversity Board.

2.Abhay Kumar Johari (Member Secretary)
CARRER PROFILE: A Post-graduate in Botany from Lucknow University, worked on Plant Viruses at National Botanical Research Institute before joining Indian Forest Service in 1986. Awarded M. Phil by Punjab University on 'Forestry & Climate Change'. Holds post graduate Diploma in Public Administration. Under Colombo Plan trained as a trainer at University of Edinburgh and completed advanced course in Participatory Planning from University of Wolverhampton, UK. Apart from holding important assignment with the Assam Forest Department, served Government of India as Faculty of Forestry, Director in the Ministry of Environment & Forest and As DIG Forestry Research & Training & Forest Protection. Designated as Country Focal Point for Forestry and Climate Change, Invasive Species Network and for the International Network for Bamboo & Rattan. Presently Posted as Principal Chief Conservator of Forest (Biodiversity & Climate Change), Assam. Married to Dr Ranjana Gupta, an Indian Forest Service Officer. Has a son working in finance management Company.

3.Dr. Parimal Chandra Bhattacharjee (Expert Member)
CAREER PROFILE: (Rtd.) Professor and Head department of Zoology, Gauhati University, Vice-President- Primate Research Centre; Member: IUCN-SSG Primate, International Ornithological Congress(IOC); Executive council – ASTEC, Research Advisory Council, Dept of Forest; Expert committee of the MEE of the PAs-GOI-MoEF; Executive Trustee-WTI; Ex-Member of TRAC (Training Research and Academic Council) WII, TPCG (Technical and Policy core group)-National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (NBSAP) and Coordinator –NE states; Executive body SACON, State Coordinator of Inland wetland Survey–UNDP-SACON; Guided 20 – Ph.D students; completed 20 research projects; published 70 scientific papers and notes.

4. Dr. Ajit Kumar Das, Ph. D. (Expert Member)

Associate Proffesor, Department of Ecology & Environmental Science, Assam University, Silchar.

5. Dr. (Mrs) Nirmali Medhi (Expert Member)

Associate Professor & HoD, Department of Zoology, Handique Girls College, Guwahati.

6. Dr. Bijoy Neog, Ph. D. (Expert Member)

Professor & HoD, Department of Life Sciences, Dibrugarh University.

7. Dr. Bibhab Kumar Talukdar, Ph. D. (Expert Member)

Secretary General, Aaranyak.